Another voice of support for Sutton Coldfield Library Service

leilarasheed

We’re very grateful to Leila Rasheed for her support of our campaign. If you’d like to join her in supporting our compaign, here are some things you can do right now:

  • Sign the petitions against the proposed library closure if you haven’t already done so. There are two petitions online and two further (paper) petitions being run by Unison and the local Liberal Democrats which you may come across when you are in Sutton town centre

    https://you.38degrees.org.uk/…/keep-library-services-open-i…

    https://www.change.org/p/birmingham-city-council-save-sutto…

  • Fill out the city council consultation document at https://www.birminghambeheard.org.uk/…/communi…/consult_view
  • Write a letter to any of the local newspapers voicing your concern about the library proposals. If you’ve got kids, you could ask them to write a letter.

    The Sutton Coldfield Observer
    Ventura Park Road
    Bitterscote
    Tamworth
    Staffordshire
    B78 3LZ

    suttonobserver@cintamworth.co.uk

    The editor of the Sutton Coldfield Observer is Gary Phelps gary.phelps@cintamworth.co.uk or @midlands_editor (Twitter)

    The Birmingham Mail
    BPM Media (Midlands) Floor 6,
    Fort Dunlop,
    Fort Parkway,
    Birmingham,
    B24 9FF

    Editor in chief marc.reeves@trinitymirror.com or @marcreeves on Twitter

  • Write a letter to our local MP
    Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP
    House of Commons
    London, SW1A 0AA.

    andrew.mitchell.mp@parliament.uk

  • Contact our local town and city councillors about the proposals to let them know your opinion on them, and any ideas you have for alternative proposals.

    CITY councillors for Sutton Trinity ward (the ward with the library in it)
    margaret.waddington@birmingham.gov.uk
    david.pears@birmingham.gov.uk
    ewan.mackey@suttontrinityconservatives.co.uk

    TOWN councillors

    Trinity
    Claire.Bennett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
    Maria.Hewett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
    Charlotte.Hodivala@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
    Ewan.Mackey@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
    David.Pears@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
    Keith.Ward@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk


  • We’re keen to hear from anyone who can offer advice on commercial building management, IT facilites, community outreach work like museums do as well as other library campaigners, from Birmingham or across the country. Please get in touch via our Facebook page, twitter, or by emailing suttoncoldfield@thelibrarylobby.org.uk

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *